Terms and Conditions (version 13. January 2021)

1. Definitions

5MinuteLawyer: With 5MinuteLawyer a partnership consisting of David Billeter and David Nguyen is meant. In the future, it is intended to transform this partnership into a corporation (namely a limited liability company or a stock corporation). As soon as this is the case, this corporation as legal successor of the partnership will take over all rights and duties of the partnership and its partners.

T&C: The present Terms and Conditions

Mandate: The mandate from the client as principal to 5MinuteLawyer as agent to send a letter on behalf of the client to the client's landlord requesting a rent reduction.

Written: In addition to the legal definition valid in Switzerland, digital solutions, such as transmission by e-mail or via online forms, are also considered written.

Client: A person who has accepted the T&C.

2. Agreement

The T&C can be found on the webpage of 5MinuteLawyer. By completing and submitting the online form or otherwise entering into a legal relationship with 5MinuteLawyer, namely by requesting or using any service from 5MinuteLawyer, a user of the webpage agrees to the T&C. The T&C can also be accepted by other means, e.g. by e-mail or physical letter.

By accepting the T&C and submitting the documents and information required according to the online form, the client submits a request to 5MinuteLawyer to create a personalized letter for him, with which he can request a rent reduction from his landlord. After receipt of the personalized letter, the client also has the possibility to mandate 5MinuteLawyer to send a letter to the landlord on his behalf to ask for a rent reduction. Should the client make use of this possibility, he grants 5MinuteLawyer all necessary powers of attorney, which 5MinuteLawyer needs to deliver this letter in a legally valid form to the client’s landlord.

5MinuteLawyer reserves the right to accept or reject the client's request to conclude a mandate at its own discretion. 5MinuteLawyer can reject or not accept the application without giving reasons. The client's application remains valid until it is either rejected by 5MinuteLawyer or the client revokes it in writing.

3. Service of 5MinuteLawyer

5MinuteLawyer does not provide legal advice or legal representation. 5MinuteLawyer only assists the client in enforcing a claim for rent reduction by sending a personalized letter to the client and, if additionally requested by the client, 5MinuteLawyer sends a letter to the landlord on behalf of the client for rent reduction.

5MinuteLawyer only examines a client's claim for a rent reduction due to a decreased mortgage reference rate. Other claims are neither checked nor processed by 5MinuteLawyer. For the verification of the claim 5MinuteLawyer refers to the information provided by the client. If these are incomplete and/or do not correspond to the facts, this may lead to a wrong assessment of the claim. 5MinuteLawyer is entitled to supplement incomplete information provided by the customer at its own discretion (e.g. by making assumptions). 5MinuteLawyer cannot be held responsible in any case, whether the information provided by the client is correct or incorrect, for an incorrect assessment of the client's claim.

Once the client has completed the online form, 5MinuteLawyer has the right, but not the obligation, to clarify whether the client is entitled to a reduction of his rent and, if so, how much he is entitled to. If 5MinuteLawyer determines that there is a claim for a rent reduction, 5MinuteLawyer can create a personalized letter for the client with which he can assert his claim for a rent reduction. 5MinuteLawyer can also give the client the option that 5MinuteLawyer sends the landlord a letter for rent reduction in the name of the client. If the client makes use of this option, he makes an application to 5MinuteLawyer. If 5Minutelawyer accepts this application, the mandate is concluded. The mandate includes sending the letter to the landlord via e-mail (the letter is sent in the form of a PDF attached to the e-mail). 5MinuteLawyer does not send physical letters. 5MinuteLawyer will endeavor to send the letter on behalf of the client as soon as possible, i.e. usually immediately, but at the latest within 5 to 10 working days after acceptance of the mandate. Possible disadvantages for the client resulting from a later dispatch cannot lead to claims for damages against 5MinuteLawyer.

The mandate is exhausted in the dispatch of the letter by 5MinuteLawyer. The following correspondence is to be taken over by the customer. In particular, 5MinuteLawyer is not obligated to process and/or forward to the customer any responses that the landlord sends to 5MinuteLawyer.

4. Representations, duties and confirmations of the client

If the client instructs 5MinuteLawyer to send the letter to his landlord, he confirms that:

1. he is entitled to mandate 5MinuteLawyer in his own name and, if there are co-tenants and/or, in the case of a family apartment, a spouse or a registered partner, on behalf of any co-tenants and spouse or registered partner;

2. he is entitled to grant 5MinuteLawyer the powers of attorney necessary for the mandate in his own name and, if there are co-tenants and/or, in the case of a family apartment, a spouse or a registered partner, on behalf of any co-tenants and spouse or registered partner with the application;

The client acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer does not provide legal advice or legal representation. He mandates 5MinuteLawyer at his own risk.

The client acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer does not provide legal advice or legal representation. He mandates 5MinuteLawyer at his own risk.

The client acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer's assessment of his entitlement to a rent reduction is based solely on the information provided by him. The client also acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer, for practical reasons, only requires information from the client that is normally sufficient to make an assessment but cannot consider special cases. For this reason, in individual cases it may happen that 5MinuteLawyer's assessment is not correct despite the correctness of the information provided by the client. The client acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer will not be held liable for any incorrect assessment. The client who wishes to have greater certainty regarding his entitlement to a rent reduction is advised to consult a rental law expert. Also, the client acknowledges that 5MinuteLawyer will send the reduction request via e-mail and does not provide any assurance that such e-mail will actually reach the client’s landlord.

The client acknowledges that 5Minutelawyer may store, process and use any information provided by the client to 5Minutelawyer in connection with the mandate.

5. Fees and payments

For sending the letter, 5MinuteLawyer charges a fee. The amount of the fee can be found on the webpage of 5MinuteLawyer and might be subject to change without notice.The payment of the fee is handled by a third party provider. The use is at your own risk. 5Minutelawyer cannot be held liable for acts or omissions of the third party provider, neither on a contractual nor on an extra-contractual basis (see also below: "Disclaimer"). The customer is advised to read the terms and conditions of the third party provider.

6. Disclaimer

Any liability of 5MinuteLawyer and possible auxiliary persons for damages of any kind (including losses, indirect and secondary damages, loss of profit and consequential damages) incurred by the client or third parties is excluded as far as legally permissible.

7. Final provisions

5MinuteLawyer may change the T&C at any time and without notice. Changes to the detriment of the client shall only apply to the client after he has agreed to the changed T&C.

Should any provision of the T&C be invalid or incomplete or should fulfilment be impossible, the validity of the remaining parts of the T&C shall not be affected.

Additions, amendments or the cancellation of provisions of the T&C are valid in writing and with the express consent of the parties. This also applies to this written form clause.

5MinuteLawyer is entitled to transfer rights and obligations from the legal relationship with the client to third parties without the client's consent.

The German version of the T&C shall prevail in the event of inconsistencies with other language versions.

Exclusive place of jurisdiction is Zurich. The T&C and the legal relationship between the parties are subject to Swiss law.

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (Version 13. Januar 2021)

1. Definitionen

5MinuteLawyer: Mit 5MinuteLawyer ist die einfache Gesellschaft bestehend aus David Billeter und David Nguyen gemeint. Es ist beabsichtigt, diese einfache Gesellschaft in Zukunft in eine Körperschaft (namentlich eine GmbH oder AG) zu überführen. Sobald dies der Fall ist, tritt diese Körperschaft als Rechtsnachfolgerin der einfachen Gesellschaft in alle Rechte und Pflichten der einfachen Gesellschaft sowie deren Gesellschafter ein.

AGB: Die vorliegenden allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen

Auftrag: Der Auftrag vom Kunden als Auftraggeber an 5MinuteLawyer als Beauftragte, im Namen des Kunden einen Brief an den Vermieter des Kunden zu senden, mit welchem eine Mietzinsreduktion gefordert wird.

Schriftlich: Als schriftlich gelten neben der in der Schweiz gültigen gesetzlichen Definition auch digitale Lösungen, wie namentlich die Übermittlung von Informationen per E-Mail über Online-Formulare.

Kunde: Eine Person, welche diese AGB akzeptiert hat.

2. Vereinbarung

Die AGB finden sich auf der Webpage von 5MinuteLawyer. Indem ein Benutzer der Webpage das Online-Formular abschliesst und übermittelt oder auf andere Art und Weise in eine Rechtsbeziehung mit 5MinuteLawyer tritt, namentlich durch das Beantragen oder in Anspruch nehmen einer Dienstleistung von 5MinuteLawyer, erklärt er sich mit den AGB einverstanden. Die AGB können zudem auch auf anderem Weg, z.B. per E-Mail oder physischem Schreiben akzeptiert werden.

Mit dem Akzeptieren dieser AGB und dem Einreichen der gemäss Online-Formular notwendigen Unterlagen und Informationen stellt der Kunde einen Antrag an 5MinuteLawyer, für ihn ein personalisiertes Schreiben zu erstellen, mit welchem er von seinem Vermieter eine Mietzinsreduktion verlangen kann. Nach Erhalt des personalisierten Schreibens hat der Kunde zudem die Möglichkeit, 5MinuteLawyer zu beauftragen, in seinem Namen dem Vermieter ein Schreiben betreffend Mietzinsreduktion zuzustellen. Sollte der Kunde von dieser Möglichkeit Gebrauch machen, erteilt er 5MinuteLawyer alle notwendigen Vollmachten, welche 5MinuteLawyer benötigt, um dem Vermieter des Kunden dieses Schreiben in rechtsgültiger Form zuzustellen.

5MinuteLawyer behält sich vor, den Antrag des Kunden auf Abschluss eines Auftrags in eigenem Ermessen anzunehmen oder abzulehnen. 5MinuteLawyer kann den Antrag ohne Angabe von Gründen nicht annehmen oder ablehnen. Der Antrag des Kunden besteht so lange, bis er entweder von 5MinuteLawyer abgelehnt wurde oder der Kunde ihn schriftlich widerruft.

3. Dienstleistung von 5MinuteLawyer

5MinuteLawyer erbringt keine Rechtsberatung und keine Rechtsvertretung. 5MinuteLawyer unterstützt den Kunden lediglich bei der Durchsetzung eines Anspruchs um Reduktion des Mietzinses, indem für den Kunden ein personalisiertes Schreiben erstellt wird und, falls vom Kunden zusätzlich gewünscht, 5MinuteLawyer im Auftrag des Kunden dem Vermieter ein Schreiben um Mietzinsreduktion zusendet.

5MinuteLawyer prüft nur den Anspruch eines Kunden auf Mietzinsreduktion aufgrund gesunkenem hypothekarischen Referenzzinssatz. Weitere Ansprüche werden von 5MinuteLawyer weder geprüft noch bearbeitet. Zur Prüfung des Anspruchs bezieht sich 5MinuteLawyer auf die Angaben des Kunden. Sollten diese unvollständig sein und/oder nicht den Tatsachen entsprechen, kann dies zu einer falschen Beurteilung des Anspruchs führen. 5MinuteLawyer ist berechtigt, unvollständige Angaben des Kunden in eigenem Ermessen (z.B. durch das Treffen von Annahmen) zu ergänzen. 5MinuteLawyer kann in keinem Fall, d.h. weder im Fall von richtigen noch unrichtigen Angaben durch den Kunden, für eine nicht korrekte Beurteilung des Anspruchs des Kunden haftbar gemacht werden.

Sobald der Kunde das Online-Formular ausgefüllt hat, hat 5MinuteLawyer das Recht, aber nicht die Pflicht, abzuklären, ob der Kunde einen Anspruch auf Reduktion seines Mietzinses hat und falls ja, wie hoch dieser Anspruch ist. Stellt 5MinuteLawyer fest, dass ein Anspruch auf Mietzinsreduktion besteht, kann 5MinuteLawyer für den Kunden ein personalisiertes Schreiben erstellen, mit dem der Kunde seinen Anspruch auf Mietzinsreduktion geltend machen kann. 5MinuteLawyer kann dem Kunden ferner die Option geben, dass 5MinuteLawyer dem Vermieter ein Schreiben um Mietzinsreduktion im Namen des Kunden zusendet. Macht der Kunde von dieser Option Gebrauch, stellt er damit einen Antrag an 5Minutelawyer. Sollte 5Minutelawyer diesen Antrag annehmen, kommt der Auftrag zustande. Der Auftrag beinhaltet der Versand des Schreibens an den Vermieter per E-Mail (das Schreiben wird in Form eines PDF als Anhang zu diesem E-Mail versandt). 5MinuteLawyer versendet keine physischen Briefe. 5MinuteLawyer ist bestrebt, das Schreiben im Auftrag des Kunden möglichst rasch, d.h. in der Regel unverzüglich, aber spätestens innerhalb 5 bis 10 Arbeitstagen seit Annahme des Auftrags, zu versenden. Allfällige aus einem späteren Versand resultierende Nachteile für den Kunden können nicht zu Schadenersatzansprüchen gegen 5MinuteLawyer führen.

Der Auftrag erschöpft sich im Versand des Briefes durch 5MinuteLawyer. Die darauffolgende Korrespondenz ist vom Kunden zu übernehmen. 5MinuteLawyer ist insbesondere nicht verpflichtet, allfällige Antworten, welche der Vermieter an 5MinuteLawyer richtet, zu verarbeiten und/oder dem Kunden weiterzuleiten.

4. Zusicherungen, Pflichten und Bestätigungen des Kunden

Falls der Kunde 5MinuteLawyer mit dem Versand des Schreibens an seinen Vermieter beauftragt, bestätigt er, dass:

1. er berechtigt ist, 5MinuteLawyer in eigenem Namen und, falls Mitmieter und/oder bei einer Familienwohnung ein Ehegatte oder eingetragener Partner vorhanden sind, im Namen allfälliger Mitmieter und des Ehegatten bzw. eingetragenen Partners zu beauftragen;

2. er berechtigt ist, 5MinuteLawyer die für den Auftrag nötigen Vollmachten in eigenem Namen und, falls Mitmieter und/oder bei einer Familienwohnung ein Ehegatte oder eingetragener Partner vorhanden sind, im Namen allfälliger Mitmieter und des Ehegatten bzw. eingetragenen Partners zu erteilen und 5MinuteLawyer diese Vollmachten im Rahmen seines Antrags erteilt;

Der Kunde anerkennt, dass 5MinuteLawyer keine Rechtsberatung oder Rechtsvertretung übernimmt. Er Beauftragt 5MinuteLawyer auf eigenes Risiko.

Der Kunde bestätigt, dass er 5MinuteLawyers von sämtlichen Ansprüchen Dritter befreit. Dies gilt für, ist aber nicht begrenzt auf, Ansprüche aufgrund fehlerhafter Kommunikation sowie falschen Unterlagen und Informationen.

Der Kunde anerkennt, dass die Beurteilung von 5MinuteLawyer bezüglich seines Anspruchs auf eine Mietzinsreduktion allein auf den von ihm angegebenen Informationen basiert. Der Kunde anerkennt auch, dass 5MinuteLawyer aus Praktikabilitätsgründen nur die Informationen vom Kunden verlangt, die im Normalfall ausreichen, um eine Beurteilung abgeben zu können, aber keine Rücksicht auf Spezialfälle nehmen kann. Aus diesem Grund kann es in Einzelfällen vorkommen, dass die Beurteilung von 5MinuteLawyer trotz Korrektheit der vom Kunden angegebenen Informationen nicht stimmt. Der Kunde anerkennt, dass 5MinuteLawyer nicht für eine falsche Beurteilung haftbar gemacht werden. Dem Kunden, der eine erhöhte Sicherheit bezüglich seines Anspruchs auf Mietzinsreduktion wünscht, wird der Gang zu einem Mietrechtsexperten empfohlen. Auch anerkennt der Kunde, dass 5MinuteLawyer das Herabsetzungsbegehren per E-Mail verschickt und keine Zusicherung dafür abgibt, dass diese E-Mail tatsächlich beim Vermieter des Kunden ankommt.

Der Kunde bestätigt, dass 5Minutelawyer alle Informationen des Kunden speichern, bearbeiten und verwenden darf, welche er 5Minutelawyer im Zusammenhang mit dem Auftrag zukommen lässt.

5. Gebühren und Zahlungen

Für den Versand des Schreibens verlangt 5MinuteLawyer eine Gebühr. Die Höhe der Gebühr findet sich auf der Webpage von 5MinuteLawyer und kann jederzeit ohne Vorankündigung geändert werden. Die Zahlung der Gebühr wird über einen Drittanbieter abgewickelt. Die Benutzung erfolgt auf eigene Gefahr. 5Minutelawyer kann für Handlungen oder Unterlassungen des Drittanbieters nicht haftbar gemacht werden, weder auf vertraglicher noch ausservertraglicher Basis (vgl. dazu auch nachfolgend: "Haftungsausschluss"). Dem Kunden wird empfohlen, die allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen des Drittanbieters zu lesen.

6. Haftungsausschluss

Jede Haftung von 5MinuteLawyer sowie allfälliger Hilfspersonen für dem Kunden oder Dritten entstehende Schäden jeder Art (einschliesslich Verluste, indirekte und mittelbare Schäden, entgangener Gewinn und Folgeschäden) ist soweit gesetzlich zulässig ausgeschlossen.

7. Schlussbestimmungen

5MinuteLawyer kann diese AGB jederzeit und ohne Vorankündigung ändern. Änderungen zum Nachteil des Kunden gelten für diesen erst, wenn er den geänderten AGB zugestimmt hat.

Sollten eine Bestimmungen dieser AGB unwirksam oder unvollständig sein oder sollte die Erfüllung unmöglich werden, so wird hierdurch die Wirksamkeit der übrigen Teile der AGB nicht beeinträchtigt.

Ergänzungen, Abänderungen oder die Aufhebung von Bestimmungen der AGB sind schriftlich und mit dem ausdrücklichen Einverständnis der Parteien rechtsgültig. Dies gilt auch für diese Schriftformklausel.

5MinuteLawyer ist berechtigt, Rechte und Pflichten aus dem Rechtsverhältnis mit dem Kunden ohne dessen Zustimmung auf Drittpersonen zu übertragen.

Die deutsche Version dieser AGB ist massgebend im Fall von Nichtübereinstimmungen mit anderen Sprachversionen.

Ausschliesslicher Gerichtsstand ist Zürich. Die AGB und das Rechtsverhältnis zwischen den Parteien unterstehen Schweizer Recht.